Broadcast live on:

Friday 3 May 2019
5:00am
PDT
8:00am
EDT
1:00pm
BST
2:00pm
CEST
  • 45 mins
  • 7 - 11, 11 - 14
This live broadcast has ended and is available to watch on catch up.

#AMA - Arctic Q&A with Jamie and Ellie

What is the coldest temperature you have experienced? Students can ask Jamie and Ellie anything in this live Q&A session.

Preparation

These sessions trigger great online and class discussions about marine science topics, geography, environmentalism, climate change, the use of plastic and life as science communicators. If you’re registered for an Ask me anything session, prepare lots of questions!

Preparing for this session is a great opportunity to develop your students' questioning skills. Use the selection of guides and advice in the Arctic Live Professional Development collection to support this process. Think of a variety of questions, especially open-ended questions and questions that you couldn’t just find the answer to using a search engine.

Jamie and Ellie will try to answer as many questions as possible.

Session steps

1. Introduction (5 mins)

Jamie and Ellie will introduce themselves and say a little about the research being conducted at the UK Arctic Research Station in Ny-Ålesund, Svalbard. There will also be shout-outs to any registered schools, so listen out for your school.

2. Ask me anything (40 mins)

Jamie and Ellie will attempt to answer as many questions as possible, answering the pre-submitted questions from schools first and then the questions coming in on the live chat, so listen out for your school’s question.

During this time students might like to make notes about which questions and answers they thought were most interesting or make a fact-file based on what they have heard during the session.

If students think of any further questions don’t forget to submit questions for the next Q&A session.

Speakers

Arctic Live 2019 Jamie Buchanan Dunlop

Jamie Buchanan-Dunlop

Executive Director, Encounter Edu

Arctic Live 2019 Ellie Mackay

Ellie Mackay

Field Producer, Encounter Edu

Brought to you by

With the support of

activity age bookmark-fill icon bookmark boy-girl calendar chevron-down icon close icon compass cross icon download encounter-live facebook gallery icon instagram icon Instagram icon linkedin links icon location mail icon map next play previous professional-development right-arrow icon search share single image social-media speaker spinner icon students subject-update teacher-resources tick icon time twitter user video-lesson video youtube