Broadcast live on:

Monday 29 Oct 2018
10:30am
PDT
1:30pm
EDT
6:30pm
GMT
7:30pm
CEST
  • 45 mins
  • 7 - 11, 11 - 14, 14 - 16
This live broadcast has ended and is available to watch on catch up.

#AMA - Coral Q&A with Ellie, Kevin and Rebecca

In this broadcast live from Curacao, Ellie speaks to researchers Kevin and Rebecca from the University of Alabama, about their obsession with sand, and the incredible world of tiny creatures (called 'meiofauna') that they have discovered.

Part of: Coral Live 2018

In this broadcast live from Curacao, Ellie speaks to researchers Kevin and Rebecca from the University of Alabama, about their obsession with sand, and the incredible world of tiny creatures (called 'meiofauna') that they have discovered.

These sessions trigger great online and class discussions about marine science topics, geography, environmentalism, climate change and life as science communicators. If you’re registered for an open Q&A, prepare lots of questions! This is an open forum for students to ask their wildest questions.

1. Welcome (5 mins)

Ellie will introduce themselves and say a little about the research being conducted at the CARMABI research centre.

2. Ask me anything (40 mins)

The team will then attempt to answer as many of the pre-submitted questions from schools and the questions coming in on the Live chat, so listen out for your school’s question.

During this time students might like to make notes about which questions and answers they thought were most interesting or make a fact-file based on what they have heard during the session.

Speakers

Coral Live 2018 Ellie Mackay

Ellie Mackay

Science communicator

Speaker Kevin Kecot

Dr Kevin Kocot

Assistant Professor, University of Alabama | Curator of Invertebrate Zoology, Alabama Museum of Natural History

Brought to you by

activity age bookmark-fill icon bookmark boy-girl calendar chevron-down icon close icon compass cross icon download encounter-live facebook gallery icon instagram icon Instagram icon linkedin links icon location mail icon map next play previous professional-development right-arrow icon search share single image social-media speaker spinner icon students subject-update teacher-resources tick icon time twitter user video-lesson video youtube